Sneaky Spy Tapioca Recipe 2012 style

This is a repost from 2009, my favorite recipe for tapicoa. I am trying to back up off the wheat and dairy ( absurd, I know) and am bringing my tolerance way down for my birthday where I plan to nearly OD on cow, wheat and sugar. What’s an old punk to do…right?

I am looking like a spy here…
This is the best tapioca pudding recipe I’ve ever found, I usually make really gross pudding with horrid egg clumps– this fixes the problem and is totally easy, no stirring over a hot stove in the 90 degree heat. I feel like a pudding spy– it shouldn’t be this easy!

 

  • 3 1/2 ounces large pearl tapioca, approximately 1/2 cup
  • 2 cups cold water
  • 2 1/2 cups whole milk or (rice milk or soy, etc)
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1T vanilla
  • Pinch salt

Directions

Place tapioca in a medium mixing bowl along with the water, cover, and let stand overnight or three hours.

Drain water from tapioca. Place the tapioca into a slow cooker along with the milk, and salt. Cook on high for 2 hours, stirring occasionally.

In a small bowl, whisk together the egg yolk and sugar. Temper small amounts of the tapioca into the egg mixture until you have added at least 1 cup. Then add this back into the remaining tapioca in the slow cooker. Add the lemon zest and stir to combine. Cook for an additional 15 minutes, stirring at least once. Add Vanilla Extract . Transfer the pudding to a bowl and cover the surface with plastic wrap. Allow to cool at room temperature for 1 hour and then place in the refrigerator until thoroughly chilled.

 

This is altered from Alton Brown’s. It has less fat and more like my fav OLD SCHooL, yes literally Old Alaskan School lunch– recipe.

Leave a Reply

